I Don’t Understand The: “Why Should I Care?” Mentality

While working a few weeks ago, I somehow ended up in a very strange conversation with someone.  I don’t remember how we got to where we did in the conversation, but the next thing I knew, the person I was talking with said, “Well, I wouldn’t expect other people, especially strangers, to stop and help me if I got cancer.   You know, I’ve got my own life to live and a lot of other things on my mind besides helping people cure cancer in this world.”  As soon as this individual (a very good person, I might add, although I couldn’t disagree with this persons statement more passionately) uttered this statement, I stopped.  I was speechless.  I felt a lump in my throat.  She, of course, did not know how involved I am in the cancer world; she definitely did not know how personally cancer (and worst of all, childhood cancer) had attacked the ones I love.  I swallowed hard and tried to think of what to say to that.  Everyone is entitled to their own opinions and I am not Queen of the World, I do not get to say what is a problem and what is not, what things people should care about and what they should disregard.  So I gathered myself, took a deep breath, and said, “Yeah, I guess each and every one of us has a lot going on.  Life gets busy.  We have a million things on our ‘To-Do’ lists, but in my life, finding a cure to cancer and helping others who have it or have been affected by it just happens to be right at the top of my own personal ‘To-Do’ list.  I think maybe the reason I feel that way is that for me, cancer is personal.”

I decided to stop there and not go on, because if I went on I would end up making this individual feel bad, but if I was to go on I would have said, “You see, it’s personal because cancer stole the life of my best friend.  Then it went on to attack the bodies of my grandma and LITTLE BROTHER.. and I am so FORTUNATE that they are here with me still today, healthy, but cancer still is a threat to their life, and because my brother’s cancer is so rare and dangerous, if it comes back we’ve been told there would be little to no hope, because there is no further treatment for his kind of cancer because they DON’T KNOW SHIT about it, it’s too rare and because of that nobody wants to fund research for the ‘incredibly terrible and deadly type of cancer that not THAT many people get’.  And then I met wonderful, incredible human beings through this cancer journey of my brother’s.  I met all this amazing children (children with freaking cancer), and then I had to stand by and watch 85% of these children DIE.  Have you ever heard of Ronan, the most beautiful little boy that ever lived?  Do you see these bracelets that I wear everyday to work (and everyday of my life)?  These are for him.  HE WAS STOLEN BY CANCER.  One look at that beautiful little boy and his piercing blue, sparkly eyes would make you change your mind in an instant, would make you want a cure to cancer so bad that your whole body ached for it.  HE should still be here.  He roomed with my little brother at Phoenix Children’s Hospital, and you know what is bullshit?  He’s not here anymore.  It should be HIM AND MY BROTHER that are both still here today.  And his family, oh his family.  They are a family entirely comprised of the most wonderful, kind, loving, amazing human beings you’ll ever meet.  His mama, daddy, and his twin older brothers, they are ALL prime examples of why I still have faith in the human race, and Ronan, he LIVED LIFE the way it was meant to be lived, to the fullest, with lots of love, fun, spunk, and spice.  THESE are just SOME of the reasons I have dedicated my life to helping others and finding a cure to this terrible, nasty beast.

So, you can probably see why I chose to stop myself where I did.  I am not a mean person.  I never wish to harm, hurt, manipulate, and put down another person.  I want to be a person who makes a POSITIVE difference in the lives of others, but I also seek to make real change in this cancer world, and sometimes that means causing a ruckus, but the place and person I was talking to was not the right opportunity to do so, especially in a work setting where I am quite new.

What this individual said got me thinking about why things might be so slow to change.  I think many people live in the “If it isn’t directly affecting MY life, WHY should I worry about it?” Mindset.  For me, it’s more like, “How could I NOT care, I have to make a difference!”  Yes, I think that everybody should care about curing cancer, but what everyone chooses to care about and feel passionate about is different.  I guess my greatest hope is that as a human race, we become more compassionate in general (I’m not just talking about cancer here, I’m talking about in all aspects of life).  Love deeper.  Help people.  Do things that make this world a better place.  Find your passion, and follow it.  Speak up.  Let your voice be heard.  Stand up for yourself and others.  Care about others.  Live bravely.  Leave this world a better place than it was when you first came into it.  Be wild and free.

Oh, and if you happen to have that burning passion to find a cure for cancer, fight hard, never give up, and fuck cancer.  

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “I Don’t Understand The: “Why Should I Care?” Mentality

  1. krispearson88

    You are absolutely amazing!

  2. Darling Kassie, you are such a rare human being and I feel so blessed to know you even in this small way. My older sister had cancer when she was 15 and had half her lung removed (luckily no chemo). She doesn’t choose to fight against cancer, as I think it just something she would rather forget, but boy is she passionate about animal welfare. I think if we all had a cause we were passionate about, the world would be a better place.

    • Kassie

      Thank you so much, you are an incredible human being and so is your sister, I am glad to hear that your sister is doing well!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.