You know those things you thought you couldn’t do? You should go do them.

“It is not the critic who counts. Not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled. Or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man in the arena. Whose face is marred by the dust and sweat and blood. Who strives valiantly. Who errs and comes short again and again. Who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, and spends himself in a worthy cause. Who at best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement. And who, at worst, if he fails… at least fails while daring greatly. So that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls, who know neither victory or defeat.”

I am going out and doing something I never thought I could or would do. I am going to run a half marathon (13.1 miles) in the Phoenix Rock n Roll Marathon on January 20, 2013. Those who know me best know I’ve spent the first 21 years (so my whole life) of my life loathing running. I’ve never been able to do it right, to get into the groove of it, to get my breathing right so that I don’t tire out easily or get a side ache. I never in my life thought I would run for any reason, unless someone was chasing me, and I certainly never in my wildest dreams expected I would sign up for a half marathon on my own free will. But here I am, registered to run a half marathon, and I will not give up or back down.

So why is this (formerly) self-proclaimed “running disabled” individual running a half marathon? There is only one answer to this question and there is only one reason I would ever do it: to raise money for The Ronan Thompson Foundation and find a cure to one of the most common and deadly forms of childhood cancer, neuroblastoma. I run for Ronan, the most beautiful little boy who ever lived, a little boy who should still be here but was stolen from his family (one of the most incredible families I’ve ever met, by the way) by the monster that is neuroblastoma. My brother Coleman roomed with Ronan while getting chemotherapy back when they were both diagnosed in August of 2010. My brother is doing well and is healthy today, and for that I am eternally grateful, but it should be both Coleman AND Ronan that are still here today.

I’ve started training for my marathon, and I am truly starting at the very beginning, because as I mentioned, I don’t have the best track record with running. Today was a milestone for me, I ran for 7 minutes without stopping. That probably seems pathetic to most people but I am proud of myself and this small accomplishment because I literally started at the very bottom.

So, as I make this difficult journey towards my 13.1k marathon, will you help me out? My fundraising goal is $2,000.00 and with YOUR help I know I can reach and even surpass this goal, and we can truly start making a difference in the childhood cancer/neuroblastoma world! This cause is so incredibly close to my heart, I do this for my brother, for Ronan baby, and for all other kids who have fought/are fighting childhood cancer. This is all for them. If kids can fight cancer, I can DEFINITELY run a half marathon. Please help me out by clicking RIGHT HERE to donate to my personal fundraising page. Please help me out, it couldn’t be for a more worthwhile cause, and even the smallest donation makes a difference and means the world to me!

Thank you so much, I appreciate it more than words will ever be able to express. So come on, go out there and do the things you never thought you could. All good things are wild and free.

20120825-134615.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.